Author Archives: Corey

MIVA AGM and Awards Night – Friday Oct 14th

Written By on September 14, 2016

AGM and Awards Extravaganza This is going down FRIDAY OCTOBER 14th, in the upstairs room at the Taphouse (used to be Fibber McGees). Mark this in your calendar. Book a babysitter. Come be social and have a great time. The nominations for the new MIVA Board of Directors are open now here.  Please feel free to submit your nomination, it is all anonymous. The names submitted WILL be contacted to see if they accept prior to just putting them on the ballot. On that note, there will be a few vacancies on the board next year as some of us with? Read More

Arrowsmith Bikes Hill Climb Series – Finale and Recap

Written By on September 2, 2016

A wet rainy night held some riders away as fall seemed to hit us like a brick wall. 11 racers took to the line shivering (some reluctantly) but the allure of double points kept them there. With slick roads, times were definitely a bit slower than in previous years, but that didn’t stop TWO course records being broken! Congrats to Ayden Houle for his 15:48 climb (prev record Evan Luksay 16:51), and to Janna Gillick for again lowering the female CR to 14:08 (prev record 14:12). The foursome of Gillick, Anderson, Houle, and Zavarise were all racing of course, as? Read More

Final Hill Climb – This Thursday

Written By on August 27, 2016

The finale DOUBLE POINTS hill climb in the Arrowsmith Bikes Hill Climb Series goes this Thursday at 630pm, up the annual finale location, Doumont. MIVA has hosted 14 time trials, 15 crits, and 4 hill climbs.. 33 races down. 1 to go. Let’s do this one up HUGE. I’ve compiled every result I can find from 2011 to now, all viewable here. Course Records: Female: Janna Gillick 14:12 (2015) Youth Female: Abigail Hare 19:25 (2013) Male: Nick Kupiak 11:49 (2015) Youth Male: Evan Luksay 16:51 (2015) The Series Standings last year were flipped upside down with the double points race,? Read More


Written By on August 26, 2016

Hill Climb #4 in the 5 race Arrowsmith Bikes Series took place at the popular Departure Bay climb. A good showing of 14 riders came out in 33 degree heat. Janna took the female course record here with a blistering 7:54, 21 seconds off last years best. Tamara Zavarise knocked 33 seconds off her time last year as well, and husband Lee took 10 seconds off of his time. It doesn’t go unnoticed how dedicated this couple is to make it out to so many events, arranging childcare, alternating, and even volunteering! Of last year’s 26 starters, only 5 were? Read More


Written By on August 23, 2016

(Race report by timekeeper Peter McCaffery) “A very hot evening kept most riders away so there were only 8 competitors in this mass start climb. Aho Road and the lead in on Prospect feature numerous gradient changes, with a brief descent just before the tough final rise. Elijah Buffalo and Nick Kupiak soon drew away from the rest of the riders and stayed together until the final 100metres, when Nick pulled away from Elijah, finishing nearly 5 seconds up in a new record time. Next to finish was MIVA’s BAR winner Janna Gillick (ATAC) completing the climb in a new? Read More

A Mid Summer Cross Race – Results and Recap

Written By on August 16, 2016

If you build it, they will come. Norm’s dream of bringing Cross back to Diver Lake in the dead of summer proved this to be true. A huge turnout (SELL OUT) and one of the best courses designed on the island had people raving for next years race, with suggestions of overnighter doubleheaders, other additional locales, and much more. One of the remarks overheard most often was that the course maximized the venue size better than anyone imagined, with the Le Mans style start spreading the group out early. By the stats: Females 20 Female Finishers 20 Males 75 Male? Read More

Arrowsmith Bikes Hill Climb #2 – Recap and Results

Written By on August 15, 2016

20 racers came out to take on the longest hill climb of them all, Nanaimo Lakes Road. The 7.2km grind had some fast times! The top 4 males were all identical to last week with Nick Kupiak, Eli Buffalo, Lazarus Difiore, and Ron Cook all holding their own slots again. In the female race Janna Gillick took top spot, followed by Lesley Anderson, Rose Houle, and Tamara Zavarise. The Course Records also held on for another year, with Joel Deschiffart (14:28) and Janna Gillick (16:40) both set in 2015 but not taken down today. Full results here. Series standings here. Congrats? Read More