The Mid Island Velo Association grew out of the OBB Wheelers – Nanaimo -series of week night races run since 2008 by ex– Brits, Dave Kenny and Peter McCaffery. Over eighty riders took part in these well organised events and at the end of the 2010 season, Aussie import, Tony Winter, and local triathlete and avid road cyclist Iain Hay, got together with Peter and Dave to discuss forming a new club that would unite cyclists from various small interest groups to form a club that would better serve the interests of road racing in the mid Vancouver Island region.


In the fall of 2010, a general meeting was held and a steering committee was chosen to set up the new club. A name was chosen, clothing designs were submitted, and at the second general meeting in January, 2011, Mid Island Velo Association – MIVA – was officially formed with a board of directors and a mission statement that reflects the club’s road, track and cyclo-cross interests, with a strong emphasis on youth development.


The first president of MIVA is Peter McCaffery. Club directors are Philip Birrer, Iain Hay, Ross Palfery, Kyle Waring and Janna Gillick. The 2011 season proved to be very successful with many riders competing in the time trial series on Nanaimo River Road. The Criterium races on the great Boxwood Road circuit also turned out to be very popular, attracting participants from Victoria, Duncan and Comox Valley.  MIVA will be coordinating its 2012 racing schedule with that of the Comox Valley Cycling Club  so that each club’s members can take part in the other club’s events.


If you would like to know more about MIVA please drop us a line.


See you up the road.

Add Comment Register

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

− 5 = three

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>